This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Support us by upgrading to the lifetime advertisement free version.

Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Adjusting EI to low light tanks

Discussion in 'Estimative Index' started by wgoldfarb, Jul 18, 2015.

1. wgoldfarb

wgoldfarb Junior Poster

Local Time:
    3:00 PM
    I have a lightly planted, moderately stocked aquarium which has been set up for about 6 months. I had kept aquariums in the past, but this is my first time with a planted aquarium. It's a 29 gallon with an EHEIM 2213 for filtration and a Marineland hidden LED light, which I know is considered low light (25 par and 1121 Lux at 12" depth). Ever since I set up the tank the plants have appeared healthy with no obvious signs of any deficiency. The problem is that they simply don't grow much. I have an Amazon sword, crypts, red temple, jungle val, anacharis, water wisteria, and some Java fern. They all look fine, they simply aren't growing. At first I simply thought it was due to the low lighting, but some weeks ago I decided to try adding some root tabs, Seachem Flourish and small amounts of Excel. Shortly after that the Sword, temple, anacharis and wisteria started to show some growth. This led me to believe that growth is being limited by nutrients, and not by light as I originally thought. I started doing some research and learned about EI dosing, which I immediately liked and decided to try. If my growth is indeed being limited by nutrients, EI should help. If it doesn't, well, I will know that nutrients aren't the problem, and I will just live with limited growth until i replace the light. I want to try it for