This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. Dismiss Notice
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

Ada 60-p First Time Iwagumi Attempt.

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Mark Y, Dec 28, 2017.

1. Mark Y

Mark Y Lifetime Member
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    8:55 AM
    This is my first attempt at an iwagumi style tank. It's been up for about a month and it's stocked with...

Flora-Dwarf Hairgrass, Giant Hairgrass, S. Repens, and some flame moss.
    Fauna-Red Rili and Amano shrimp.

The hardscape is maple rock.

Substrate-UpAqua sand over Eco-Complete.

Technical Details...

Co2- Pressurized through a ceramic diffuser at 1-2 BPS.

Light-AI prime freshwater at 80% output all channels currently.

Filtration-Hydor Pro 150.

Ferts- Dry KNO3, K2SO4, and Plantex CSM+B dissolved in 500m bottles using distilled water.

Issues- So far diatoms and filamentous stuff as you'll see in the pics. I've been having to remove large amounts of it about every 3 days and then water change. The light is about 20 inches from the substrate. To try and control the stuff I went from 8 hours at 95% output initially to 6 hours on time and 80% output. I've also put some Phosguard in the canister. I hope it starts to recede.:(

Overall the hairgrass is sending out runners and the repens is growing. I've been very lean on dosing due to the algae issues.

TankShot1.jpg

TankShot2.jpg

TankShot3.jpg

TankShot4.jpg

karel.brits and Phishless like this.
  2. skija

skija Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

Local Time:
    1:55 PM