About surface ripple... Little bit confused.

plantsgallery

Junior Poster
Nov 29, 2014
Hi everyone

Today I'v read the article that surface ripple degasses both O2 and CO2.

According to ceg4048 of UKAPS, agitating moves gasses from the water to the atmosphere, not the reverse.

As a result, agitating the water too much in a CO2 injected tank then you lose both CO2 and O2.

Well, that explains Why I have double trouble, poor health of plants+gassed fish.

I always thought that more ripple = more O2 = more CO2, so I've had excessive agitation as much as possible.

Then why do we make ripples if that has nothing to do with more O2?

To prevent too much CO2 build up with moderate degassing? Well it can be achieve by reducing injection rate?Â*

I'm really confused. Maybe I misunderstood.

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

gsjmia

Lifetime Members
Lifetime Member
Jan 10, 2010
Boca Raton, FL
I am no expert by any means and hopefully some with better knowledge will reply, but as I understand it, the gasses seek equilibrium and the surface is where the exchange occurs. If you have more Co2 in the water than the atmosphere, the Co2 will seek to escape into the atmosphere. If you have lower O2 in the tank than the atmosphere, the O2 from the air will try to get into the water.

The surface is where the exchange occurs and the more ripple or surface agitation, the greater the exchange.

As stated in this video, Co2 and O2 are independent of each other:

Namely, if you have high Co2, it doesn't force the O2 out or affect it at all.

I think the goal is to have good surface movement without actually breaking the surface.

If you have high Co2 and you have strong surface ripple, then you are most likely flooding your water with Co2 and any change in the other variables could throw the Co2 into higher levels and gass the fish.