This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

60g diy... rhinox or rio

Discussion in 'CO2 Enrichment' started by dannyjsanchez, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. dannyjsanchez

    dannyjsanchez Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    10:46 AM
    this is my 1st post here. hi!
    i have a 60g lightly planted and i'd like to keep a modest but consistent growth. i've read so many posts over the last few weeks that my head is filled with info. i can see that the favorite diy method is the rio with cut blades w/a co2 line in. i also read about putting a rhinox5000 under the fluval's outflow and letting the co2 diffuse that way.
    [​IMG]
    i'd prefer not to put a powerhead in there but i don't know what to think anymore. i think i need a thread of my own where i'm not pingpong-ing back and forth between 8 ideas at once.
    here is my setup:
    fluval 405, fluorite, diy co2, 2 65w dual daylights.
    [​IMG]

    thanks!
     
  2. Left C

    Left C Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    10:46 AM
    Really nice tank!

    It's long and narrow. You might want to consider having CO2 coming in from two places or one near the center. Anyway that you do it, you will want good circulation somehow.

    Do you want mist or very few bubbles showing?
     
  3. dannyjsanchez

    dannyjsanchez Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    10:46 AM
    i don't mind mist or bubbles. so with a nice fluval405, is that current enough- if i put the co2 on the two sides?
     
  4. Left C

    Left C Lifetime Members
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    10:46 AM
    I'm sorry, but I don't know anything about the Fluval filters.
     
  5. csmith

    csmith Guest

    Local Time:
    4:46 AM
    Danny,

    Fluval 405's are set at a claimed 340 gph. I found this spreadsheet that shows what I'd guess is more realistic flow rates for canister filters. http://www.petsolutions.com/Info.aspx?id=59

    I plan on running two 305's on my 55 gallon once it's filled.
     
  6. dannyjsanchez

    dannyjsanchez Junior Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    10:46 AM
    thanks for that. it's very helpful and maybe i should consider leaving my magnum on the tank as well. seeing the setup of my tank, how should i put 2 filters on? opposite ends? filter/output - intake/output ?
     
  7. shoggoth43

    shoggoth43 Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    11
    Local Time:
    10:46 AM
    If you run the intakes on one end and the outlets on the other you should be able to avoid "refiltering" relatively clean water. It probably won't make much difference but it will give you a more complete flow across the entire tank. Variables such as your aquascape may render the whole idea null and void.

    -
    S

     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice