This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

57 gallons tanks

Discussion in 'Aquascaping' started by Moonfroz, Oct 25, 2013.

1. Moonfroz

Moonfroz Junior Poster

Local Time:
    1:42 AM
    Hello Everybody

I'm new, so I will present myself. I live in Montreal (Quebec, Canada) area. I have been keeping fish for about 30 years, mostly planted freshwater tanks. However, 6 years ago, I switched to a 180 gallons Reef tank. Since that day, I was missing my planted tanks.

Few weeks ago, a friend a mine asked me to help him setup a an Amano style planted tank. So, since thing must have changed in the last 6 years, I have done some intensive research and I found this nice forum.

There are so many things new to the hobby,I would like to get your idea and suggestion.

#1 - Aquarium
    Here the start, I wanted to go with a 48 inch tank but I have to stick with a 36 inch tank because 48 inch is 4 inch too long. Therefore, I have selected a 57 gallons tank from Deep Blue (http://www.deepblueprofessional.com/edge.html). This company uses Starphir glass in the front.

But, my question is with a plastic RIM or RIMELESS on top edge?

My own preference will be to go with RIMLESS aquarium, but Is there any problem associated with rimless aquarium?

Is the 36"x18"x20" (20" is height) a nice size regarding proportion?

#2 - CO2
    I'm going CO2 high tech ie 10 pounds CO2 bottle with Regulator and pH controller to regulate CO2. I already own 2 full kits from my old planted tank.

#3 - Substrate