This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

    https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

4 dKH Solution Question

Discussion in 'General Plant Topics' started by csmith, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. csmith

    csmith Guest

    Local Time:
    2:12 PM
    Can the distilled water be substituted with RO/DI water, or is there too much left in to be of use?
     
  2. Biollante

    Biollante Lifetime Charter Member
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    8:12 PM
    DI Not RO

    Hi,

    De-ionized (DI) water can be substituted for distilled if you are reasonably sure that it is without ions. :)

    Reverse Osmosis (RO) water is not a good idea, RO allows some carbonate hardness, KH. :gw

    Biollante
     
    #2 Biollante, Apr 25, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2010
  3. Gbark

    Gbark Guru Class Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    Local Time:
    8:12 PM
    I agree with biollante,

    But if you do wish to use your RO water run it through a DI unit aswell :D
     
  4. csmith

    csmith Guest

    Local Time:
    2:12 PM
    Nah, just got some distilled water today.
     
  5. csmith

    csmith Guest

    Local Time:
    2:12 PM
    Well, I finally found something I'm good at: CO2 estimation. Put the drop checker in, went back and checked it maybe an hour and a half later and green it is.
     
  6. pat w

    pat w Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Local Time:
    8:12 PM
    Just found out a couple of weeks ago that the company where I work makes DI water in HUGE quantities. I knew we did our own water treatment, but I thought it was just to prep wastewater for discharge, EPA stuff. Normal levels are maintained at approx. 2200 gal. The generator kicks on when the level goes below 1800 gal. They'll purge a few dozen gallons on a whim just to wash out some of the equipment parts. I got the go ahead to grab a gallon or two whenever I need some. Just got to be careful not to open the 2" purge valve too far or I'll get washed away.:D

    Pat
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice