This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

220 g

Discussion in 'Algae Control' started by Karlo, May 19, 2009.

1. Karlo

Karlo Junior Poster

Local Time:
    7:01 PM
    Hello!
    I'm not a newbie to aquatic plants, but I had tanks not larger then 70g. Now I started a 220g tank and I'm having some problems.
    This was my 70g setup.

2. Karlo

Karlo Junior Poster

Local Time:
    The dimensions of aquarium are 222x65x60H cm and I don't have much plants for now. I have planted some microsorum species, cyperus helferi, eleocharis sp., lilaeopsis, ludwigia, tennelus and pogostemon helferi but this are really small amounts for this aquarium. I'm using pressurized co2 system with aquamedic 1000 reactor which is driven with the pump 2000l/h. DC has yellow green color. Filter is eheim pro III 2080, and I have two more hydor coralia I i II. The lights are 2x54 and 2x80w t5 for now, turned on for 7 hours per day.
    The substrate is potting soil and 3cm of quartz sand (1-3mm) over it. I also put some ferro tabs under the plant roots.

I always used EI and had great success.

I'm doing 40% water change twice a week two weeks for now and not started to fertilize water column because I have a few plants.
    Is this bed idea because all kind of algae started to appear in great numbers?
    I was thinking to start with fertilization 1 month after initial setup when plant mass gets bigger.

3. Karlo

Karlo Junior Poster

Local Time:
    this is my 220g

1.jpg

2.jpg

4. Tom Barr

Tom Barr Founder
    Staff Member Administrator

Local Time: