This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.
  1. We are after as many aquarium plant images that we can get, doing so will assist us in completing the aquarium plant database.

https://barrreport.com/threads/aquatic-plant-images-wanted.14374/
    Dismiss Notice

20 Gallon Iwagumi Dry Start Method

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Robb, Aug 10, 2019.

1. Robb

Robb New Member

Local Time:
    4:42 AM
    Hello all, this is my first attempt at both an Iwagumi style and the dry start method (DSM) for achieving a carpet. As the pictures below show, not much growth in the Monte Carlo over the first week, but that’s to be expected as I believe the plants are spending all their energy on establishing roots.

I am using a Twinstar 600EA, a crushed inert substrate as a base layer, and UNS Controsoil (black, fine grain size) as a top layer. Rock is Seiryu stone. There’s some Riccia fluitans stuffed into a few crevices on the rocks.

I rinsed the base layer well before placing it into the tank and layered the Controsoil over the top. After deciding on the rock layout I then moistened the soil with approximately 1 gallon of RO water using a garden sprayer. There are no visible puddles or pools of water.

Five containers of tissue cultured Monte Carlo were split and planted into the substrate. A since tissue culture cup of R. fluitans was split and attached to the rocks.

The tank is covered with plastic cling wrap and I initially kept it covered for 48 hours. Lights are on a 12/12 light/dark cycle. Temperature in the house is 74F so I figure inside the tank it’s in the mid to upper 70s.